UK Youth Parliament Elections 2014

UKYP Elections 2014

In 2014, over 22,000 ballot papers were circulated to junior and high schools to all 11 – 18 year olds.

Over 8,000 ballot papers were returned which gives a whopping 37 per cent turnout (the turnout was more than the last adult local election)!

The manifestos for the candidates who stood in the election are available below.


East Area of the Wakefield district:
Chloe Allen,   Morgan Lois Binnersley,   Georgia Daskalaki,   Luke Garman,   Adam Mark Lofthouse,   Samual Wilkinson,   Josh Wicks

West Area of the Wakefield district:
Alyssia Ellen Antonen,   Faye Estelle Beaumont,   Sana Zainab Haider,   Lewis Conor Hart,   Amirah Iqbal,   Simran Jandu,   Maia Elise Parkin,   Saskia Jade Parkinson,   Alex Pennington,   Beth Alice Stack,   Katelyn Louise Walker


The winners were announced at Manygates Education Centre on Friday 7 February 2014.

The new UKYP representatives are:

– Alex Pennington, 12, Crofton Academy – MYP for West area

– Simran Jandu, 16, NEW College – Deputy MYP for West area

Alex Pennington Photo           Simran Jandu Photo

– Chloe Allen, 16, Hemsworth Academy – MYP for East area

– Josh Wicks, 15, Minsthorpe Community College – Deputy MYP for East area

Chloe Allen Photo           Josh Wicks Photo

Cllr Olivia Rowley, Cabinet Member for Children and Young People, attended the event alongside Wakefield MP Mary Creagh.

Cllr Rowley said: “I was really impressed with the enthusiasm of the young people involved with this year’s elections, and would like to congratulate everybody who took part.  “It’s great to see so many people taking an interest in the UK Youth Parliament. The turnout this year was excellent showing that young people are keen to have their say and vote.”

Wakefield Council Youth Work Team is a subsidiary of WMDC Children and Young People's Directorate (c) Wakefield Council 2013