UK Youth Parliament Election Results 2018

ukyp logo

Young people in the district have had their voices heard after new members of the UK Youth Parliament (UKYP) were elected last night.

Wakefield Council held elections in schools across the district earlier this year and yesterday (Tuesday 10 April) the following winners were announced at a ceremony at Wakefield Town Hall:

Ben Rowbottom, 14, Ossett Academy – Member of UKYP for West area
Alexander Parkinson, 13, Ossett Academy – Deputy Member of UKYP for West area
Daniel Peacock, 16, NEW College – Member of UKYP for East area
Tyler Norton, 12, Castleford Academy – Deputy Member for UKYP for East area.



 Cllr Peter Box CBE, Leader of Wakefield Council, said: “Congratulations to all the successful candidates. It is great that so many young people are taking an interest in the UK Youth Parliament by standing in the election and also through the excellent voter turnout.”

Cllr Peter Box CBE

Cllr Peter Box CBE, Leader of Wakefield Council

Over a two year period the UKYP Members will be working on their manifesto promises which include reducing bus fare costs in the district for young people, tackling anti-social behaviour and bullying. The 2018 National UKYP campaign is for 16 and 17 year-olds to gain a vote in all public elections.

UKYP Members will also get the opportunity to debate at the House of Commons and meet with local government officers, MPs and agencies, to help them fulfil the promises that they have made in their manifestos.  A total of 30,238 ballot papers were circulated to secondary schools and primary schools.  There were 21 candidates in total and a 39.8% turnout – which is a 1.4% increase on the previous election. 


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Wakefield Council Youth Work Team is a subsidiary of WMDC Children and Young People's Directorate (c) Wakefield Council 2013