UK Youth Parliament Election Results

ukyp logo

We are very pleased to announce that the results for the 2016 Wakefield UK Youth Parliament Election are:-

The UKYP Member (East) – Daniel Britton
The UKYP Deputy Member (East) – James Klaassen-White

The UKYP Member (West) – Abigail Tandy
The UKYP Deputy Member (West) – Joshua Batty

There were 8 candidates standing in the election from across the district – 5 in the East area / 3 in the West area.

A total of 25,984 ballot papers were circulated to 11-18 year olds in the district – 128 primary and senior schools were asked to participate.

20 senior schools and 20 primary schools voted during weeks 18 January – 29 January 2016.

A total of 9968 ballot papers were returned.  This calculates at 38.36% turnout.

Despite changes to the Youth Work Team over the last 12 months they managed to increase the turnout from 2014 which was 36.82% – an increase of 1,809 individual voting papers.

The Council’s Election’s Team have confirmed that an adult local election would normally attract a 35% return.

Well done to all candidates.
Daniel, James, Cllr Olivia Rowley, Abigail, Joshua and Yvette Cooper, MP are pictured above.

See the full photo gallery from the event here.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Wakefield Council Youth Work Team is a subsidiary of WMDC Children and Young People's Directorate (c) Wakefield Council 2013